top of page

US$1 million for Innovative Initiatives on Food Security in Africa

The Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences (KFAS) is now accepting nominations for the 2022 Al-Sumait Prize in Food Security.

The prize is to be awarded to individuals or institutions who, through their research projects or initiatives, have made significant advancement within the following areas:

  • Developing new varieties of seeds, crops or livestock which can improve the food security and nutrition in Africa.

  • Increasing the shelf life, calorific and nutritional value of food produced and consumed domestically.

  • Improving smallholder farmers’ access to agricultural inputs, techniques, technologies and markets to increase the availability of nutritious products, which are highly needed to improve the diet of the most vulnerable people living and making their livelihoods from the most marginal areas in Africa.

  • Improving farmers’ resilience to climate change and extreme weather variability to ensure sustainable livelihoods, food security and nutrition.

  • Reducing significantly the food waste and food loss in the African continent agri-food systems.

  • Developing new alternative agri-food systems, increasing both productivity while reducing the water footprint, particularly in the marginal environments of the continent.

  • Improving marketing, digitalization and adoption of modern business strategies in the field of food security and nutrition.

  • Providing innovative and sustainable solutions in combating food insecurity and malnutrition in the African continent.

  • Addressing issues relevant to gender equality and women empowerment in Africa in achieving food security and nutrition.

  • Developing innovative projects and/or programs to improve agricultural livelihoods, food security, and nutrition during pandemics.

The prize is awarded annually within one of three fields – Food Security, Health and Education – and has a value of $1,000,000 (One million US dollars).

Eligibility Criteria

  • The nominated candidates’ research and development work or projects and initiatives must be innovative and have achieved high-impact in the African continent.

  • The submitted work must be of paramount importance in promoting significant economic, social, human resources and infrastructure development within the announced field.

  • Submitted research work of a nominated candidate should be composed of studies and applied research, published in peer-reviewed scientific journals and recognized at a global level within the announced field. The research outcomes need to have been applied after publication in African countries within the past ten Adequate supporting evidence needs to be provided.

  • Nominations are accepted from competent regional and international institutions and scientific centers (universities, institutes and centers of scientific research) as well as from UN organizations, former winners in the field of the prize, or former evaluation.

  • All submissions must be submitted in English. If the work is carried out is in other languages, a comprehensive summary of the nominated work in English must be submitted.

For more information, visit

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page